~Children’s Book Reviews~


Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com


David Massie And The Hidden Underworld – Book Two

– by Andrew N. Nehring

~Amazon Image/eBook/Independently Published~

~08-05-2022~

~Available On Amazon~

~David Massie And The Hidden Underworld – Book Two~


Camp Scare

– by Delilah S. Dawson

♥♥♥♥LOOK AT THE COOOOOVVVEERR!! ♥♥♥♥

~Cover Art by Matt Ryan Tobin/NetGalley/eBook~

~Random House Children’s Books/Delacorte Press~

~08-02-2022~

~Available On Amazon~

~Camp Scare~


Stinetinglers – by R.L. Stine

Loooooooookkk At This Cover!!!

LOOK. AT. IT!

~Amazon Image/NetGalley/eBook/ Feiwel & Friends~ ~08-30-2022~

~Pre-order On Amazon~

~Stinetinglers~

·  Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 – 12 years

·  Grade level ‏ : ‎ 4 – 6

STINETINGLERS: All-New Stories by the Master of Scary Tales R. L. Stine

I Had A Blast Reading This Horror Collection, So Much Fun!

If you are already a fan of Stine’s writing *raises hands* or he’s a new author to you, I Highly Recommend reading this collection:

‘From R. L. Stine, here are ten new stories that are sure to leave you shivering. A boy who hates bugs starts to see them everywhere. A basketball player’s skin starts to almost drip off his hands—but no one else can see it. Three friends find a hole in the ground that just gets bigger and bigger and bigger … And each story is introduced by Stine, providing a personal touch sure to delight fans.’

‘Dive in, and beware: you might be sleeping with the lights on tonight!’

My-Frightful-Horror-Fan-Club-Favorites Are The Following:

‘WELCOME TO THE IN-BETWEEN’ – When Gabe sneaks a peek at his Christmas gift and accidentally breaks it, he quickly finds himself stuck in time.

‘OUR LITTLE MONSTERS’ – If Becka can survive babysitting her four-year-old brother and sister while her parents are out, she can babysit anyone’s little monsters. That is until she’s in charge of watching the new neighbor’s kids … Whoa!

‘THE GHOST IN THE CAR’ – Paul and his friend Ava can’t stand Paul’s older cousin, Miller, who picks on them constantly and lies all the time. When Miller picks them up for school one day in his new, used car and tells them that it’s haunted, Paul knows how he will get his revenge.

‘THE BOY WHO HEARD SCREAMS’ – When Ted runs up to twin sisters Maria and Alyssa, frantic in need of their help, the girls don’t hesitate and rush to his aide. When the girls discover his antics, they refuse to listen even though this time—he could be telling the truth.

‘BUGS’ – ‘Alvie, in this story, is terrified of even the thought of bugs. And guess what? He has good reason to be afraid.’

Hands down one of my favorites in this collection! If you’re afraid of bugs, start cringing as this story crawls deep inside you.

‘HOW TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE’ —‘This wasn’t the life I wanted. I just wanted a life with nicer friends and a brother who didn’t bounce me off the wall every time he saw me, and parents who didn’t blame me for everything that happened in the world.’

The moral of this story, be careful what you wish for…

‘THE BAD SIDE’ — Carson is a good kid, always kind, and helps others, so when people throughout town accuse him of doing horrible things, he and his best friend Mike know it couldn’t possibly be him.

‘THE HOLE IN THE GROUND’ — ‘I squinted at it. The hole was three or four inches deep and about as wide as a bucket or a paint can. “Awesome,” I said sarcastically. “Is this what you do for fun around here? You stare at holes in the dirt?” Kendra raised her eyes to mine. “Not for fun,” she replied in a whisper….’

‘THE MONSTER-MAKER’ Love This One!! — Jamie started building monsters three years ago when he was in the fourth grade. Jamie’s early designs were made from kits, but all new creations are built from scratch with help from his friend, Annie. When their competition and classmate Isaac Peterman brings his jaw-dropping new creature to school, Jamie knows that he and Annie must step up their game.

Thank you, NetGalley and Feiwel and Friends (Macmillan Publishing Group, LLC), for providing me with an eGalley of STINETINGLERS at the request of an honest review.

Scheduled To Release, Though Subject To Change – August 2022
Middle-Grade Fiction
Horror Collection


~Trick-OR-Treat, Alistair Gray~

– by Linda Ryan

~Illustration by Timea Gazdag/Edelweiss+/eBook/Black Spot Books~

~09/06-2022~

~Pre-order On Amazon~

~Trick-Or-Treat, Alistair Gray~

·  Reading age ‏ : ‎ 5 – 7 years

·  Grade level ‏ : ‎ Kindergarten – 2

‘“Halloween is not silly,” /Alistair grumped, / feeling quite wary, / “It’s a time for the dark. / It’s a time to be scary.”’

‘[W]hen Alistair Gray attends his school Halloween carnival, he is disappointed to see his favorite night of the year has turned more silly than scary—all treats and no tricks. But when he wanders alone into the dark the night before Hallow’s Eve…’

I love the dark, spooky watercolor illustrations throughout this Halloween tale that remind me of Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Recommend!

Thank you, Black Spot Books and Edelweiss, for providing me with an eBook of TRICK-OR-TREAT ALISTAIR GRAY at the request of an honest review.


Krazyland

– by Mar Romasco-Moore

~Jacket Art by Alexander Jansson/NetGalley/eBook~

~Delacorte Press/Random House Children’s Books~

~09-13-2022~

~Pre-order Now On Amazon~

~Krazyland~


1-2-3 SCREAM!

– by R.U. Ginns

~Illustrations by Javier Espila/NetGalley/eBook~

~Delacorte Press/Random House Children’s Books~

~09-20-2022~

~Pre-order Now On Amazon~

~1-2-3 Scream!~


~We Shall Overcome~

– by Bryan Collier

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

~Jacket Illustration by Bryan Collier/Orchard Books/Paperback~

 ~12/28/2021~

~Available On Amazon~

~We Shall Overcome~



~Ronin Cleans His Room Like a Ninja~

– by Chris Roy

‘Ronin couldn’t wait to grow up so people would stop telling him what to do.’

While Ronin’s parents are away on vacation, his Cool Uncle Max, combining play with a lesson in discipline, shows Ronin what it takes to become a ninja.

RONIN CLEANS HIS ROOM LIKE A NINJA is a fun book that teaches kids, through story and illustration, a new way of thinking about their everyday responsibilities—Recommend!

‘He kept thinking about everything his Uncle Max said and had a feeling learning discipline wasn’t just for cleaning his room. Ninja discipline was about everything!’

RONIN CLEANS HIS ROOM LIKE A NINJA
By Chris Roy
Illustrated by Lucas Romão
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Blackberry Book Tour


~The Last Shimmer~

– by Safe Hyatt

THE LAST SHIMMER, a middle-grade horror story written by the talented Sage Hyatt, is super dark, literally!

The story opens with Stacy and her friend Tiger Lilly who must find a way to stop their shadows from consuming the shimmer within them—and those of their loved ones—that threatens to blanket the world in darkness.

Will the girls be able to fight off the darkness?

‘Cool hands, like a sneaky breeze, wrapped around me and held me in place. Then, the lights turned on dimly, just enough for me to see . . .’

DUN-DUN-DUUUUUUUUN!

Nope, No Spoiler. 😉

About The Author:

Sage Hyatt loves to sing, make arts and crafts, and is a connoisseur of desserts and cute cat memes. [MeToo! 🙂 ] Her story, “Psychopath Strawberry,” in which a mad scientist’s efforts to spread a toxic ice cream are thwarted by a little girl, was published in the June issue of Spaceports & Spidersilk. More of Sage’s tales can be found at Not Your Father’s Bedtime Stories, which she has written with her dad, author Ryan Hyatt since she was six.

Thank you, Blackberry Book Tours, for providing me with an eBook of THE LAST SHIMMER in the request for an honest review.

~Cover Design by – Eric Sylvester/Self-Published/eBook/04/30/21~

 ~Blackberry Book Tour – 07/08/2021~

~Available On Amazon~

~The Last Shimmer~


~The Last Fallen Star~

– by Graci Kim

I had an absolute blast reading THE LAST FALLEN STAR, action-filled from beginning to end, complex and often spur-of-the-moment life choices made by thirteen-year-old protagonists—as a Mother, those moments broke my heart, made me laugh, and made me cry.

As I neared the sixty-eight percent mark in the book, my immediate two thoughts were: 1) ‘Wow, I love this book with all the feels, I don’t want it to end!’ and 2) ‘Holy Mac-N-Cheese-Doodles ‘What new foe will they have to endure next?!’

Literally, on pins and needles at this point in the book, but, No spoilers! I will say. . .

THE LAST FALLEN STAR centers around love, loss, family, friendship, diversity, inclusion, bravery, sacrifice, bad*ss characters, and an ending that gave me the chills.

That’s not hyperbole, Dear Readers, that’s the truth—THE LAST FALLEN STAR—Highly Recommend!

‘I won’t have to rely on someone else to write my story if I’m brave enough to take the pen into my own hands.’

I can’t wait to read more books by Graci Kim, including the sequel to this book—Yeeeesss!

Thank you, NetGalley and Disney • Hyperion Publishing, for loaning me an eGalley of THE LAST FALLEN STAR in the request of an honest review.

~Designed by Joann Hill – Rick Riordan Presents/Disney.Hyperion~

~eBook – 05/04/2021~

~Available On Amazon~

~The Last Fallen Star~


~The Safe Return~

– by –

Ashley Wheelock & Arwen Evans

~Blackberry Book Tour – April 19, 2021~

THE SAFE RETURN: KIDS WEAR MASKS FOR A SAFE RETURN TO FUN

I am a huge advocate for wearing masks during the COVID-19 pandemic—both children and adults—in the ongoing effort to keep everyone safe, so when I was presented with THE SAFE RETURN to read and review, I didn’t hesitate to say yes.

As things begin to slowly normalize, children safely return to the classroom, spending time with their friends, it’s important to do so safely by wearing a mask, but you can still have fun.

In THE SAFE RETURN, five friends go on a bike-ride through their neighborhood—together but slightly apart—as the main characters’ Dad jogs behind them.

‘Feet on pavement.’
‘Tush in seat.’
‘Kick, balance, roll.’

During their adventure, ‘a stuffed bunny is temporarily lost, but a community is found.’

The book illustrations are warm and colorful, reminding of those late Summer days that blend into Fall, my favorite time of year.

Thank you, Blackberry Children’s Book Tour, for providing me with an eBook of THE SAFE RETURN in the request for an honest review.

~Illustrated by Abigail Gray Swartz/ House Of Tomorrow/ 09/03/2020eBook~

~Available On Amazon~

~The Safe Return~


~Bernice Takes A Plunge~

~Blackberry Children’s Book Tour~

About the Author:

Ann Harth writes fiction and non-fiction for children and adults. Strong, interesting characters creep into most of her books and stories, and many arrive with a sense of humour.

Before becoming a writer, mentor and developmental editor in Far North Queensland, Ann studied psychology, waited tables, bar-tended, picked strawberries, worked as a clown and punched keys on various tills. She also spent ten years working with children with special needs. Ann taught writing for the Australian College of Journalism for eight years before taking the leap into freelance work.

Ann has had a number of fiction and non-fiction children’s books published in Australia and the UK and over 120 short stories sold internationally.

After five years (2015-2020) she has stepped down from her position as Far North Queensland representative for The Society of Children’s Book Writers and illustrators as Bernice is eager to dive into another book.

When not tapping the keys, Ann stuffs a notebook into her pack and searches for remote places to camp, hike or explore.



Media links:


~My Thoughts~

Bernice Peppercorn was not a morning person, her little brother Jake, on the other hand, was. Ugh!Breakfast was often bickering on toast, that is until Mum read in that day’s morning newspaper that local celebrity Crystal Bell’s mansion was broken into the night before. 

‘It looks like family members will be dealing with the authorities because Ms. Bell is shooting a film in India.’

Bernice and her best friend Maggie want to be just like Crystal Bell who is calm, cool, smart, knows karate, can get out of any situation, solve mysteries, and outwit any bad guy who tries to mess with her. 

The next day, armed with her Crystal Bell secret spy watch, notebook, and Crystal Bell pencil, Bernice must dive into detective mode alone (Maggie is stuck at home with Chickenpox) and stumbles across some vital clues. Oh, what imagination and adventure she has! 

Age Range: 9 to 12

Genre: Children’s Action And Adventure 

I had a blast reading BERNICE TAKES A PLUNGE, which brought me back to The Stone Age when I was a wee girl, and we had to read Judy Blume’s books on stone tablets. *sigh*  #memories

BERNICE TAKES A PLUNGE – A Funny Adventure/Mystery That I Highly Recommend! 


Weird Kid

– by Greg Van Eekhout

~Harper Audiobook~

‘Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.’

~NetGalley Image – NetGalley/HarperCollins Publishing – 07/20/2021~

Star Rating – 5.0/5.0

~Goodreads – Weird Kid~

~Pre-order Now On Amazon~

~Weird Kid~

WEIRD KID, written by Greg Van Eekhout, is a Children’s Science Fiction book for reading ages 8 to 12 years.

About:

‘Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.’

‘Keeping his powers in check is crucial, though, if he wants to live a normal life and go to middle school instead of being homeschooled (and if he wants to avoid being kidnapped and experimented on, of course).’

My Thoughts:

As I read WEIRD KID, my mind ventured back in time over thirty plus years when I was in middle school, recalling what life was like as a shy, awkward kid who was horrible in sports, couldn’t do a cartwheel to save her life, and, admittedly, found butt jokes funny a not surprisingly I still do.

WEIRD KID is a heartfelt, laugh-out-loud story about love, friendship, sacrifice, bravery—and most importantly—accepting who you are, even though you’re different.

Highly Recommend!

Scheduled To Release – July 20, 2021 (Subject To Change)

Thank you, NetGalley and HarperCollins Publishing, for loaning me a Voice Galley of WEIRD KID in a request for an honest review.

Voice Galley—A synthetic voice used for early reviews and is not a reflection of the audiobook version.


Dreamy Days and Random Naps

– by Mawson

~Blackberry Children’s Book Tour~

‘Mawson Bear awakes and ponders on the art of creative napping. Scotland the Brave imagines doing great deeds. Professors Caddy and Bree hold the highest hopes for their visionary inventions. Samantha sees wondrous things all round her. The Seekers journey all the way to the edge of the world, being sure to return, of course, by bedtime.’

~Amazon Image – Blackberry – 12/01/2020~

~Blackberry Children’s Book Tour – 02/04/2021

~Goodreads – Dreamy Days & Random Naps~

~Available On Amazon~

~Dreamy Days And Random Naps~


Cancer Daily Life

– by Carola Schmidt

~Blackthorn Book Tours Christmas Promo~

As a bit of seasonal goodwill, a copy of this book will be going (along with a copy of this review) to a clinic where needy children with cancer are treated without charge.

~About Cancer Daily Life~

Cancer Daily Life is a bittersweet collection of single and double-frame strips that only readers who are highly involved with the C world could relate to. It’s sometimes cute and sweet, sometimes acid, sometimes trivial, sometimes funny, just like daily life.

~Available On Amazon~
~Cancer Daily Life~

About the Author:

Carola Schmidt is a Pediatric Oncology Pharmacist & Writer

  • Writer in the Book Authority list of “81 Best Leukemia Books of All Time” with “Chubby’s Tale: The true story of a teddy bear who beat cancer”
  • Author of “Bald is Beautiful” and other works for children with cancer
  • Author of several scientific books on pediatric oncology by Springer Nature
  • Children’s book author – “Tell Me a Story Babushka” and others

~My Thoughts~

I highly recommend Cancer Daily Life by Carola Schmidt, a book written for adolescents and adults to give a gift for a friend who received a cancer diagnosis. For someone undergoing chemotherapy or radiotherapy, if you have a family member or friend aged twelve and over coping with cancer, you don’t know what to say when a friend or family member with cancer feels stressed and needs to know they are not alone.

As a friend and family member of loved ones who are coping with cancer, it’s essential to know what to say and what not to say (something I too struggle with), to understand what is helpful and what can come across as discouraging. Schmidt touches on this topic and more with the truth in Cancer Daily Life, often with humor.

Cancer Daily Life is an excellent way to start a dialogue with your adolescent child who just received a cancer diagnosis. After reading this book, from the perspective of a parent, I learned there are a lot of things I don’t know about cancer and treatment, I feel that it’s okay to admit that to yourself and your child, coupled with the knowledge that they are not alone and that you are in this together.


~More Books By Carola Schmidt~

~About Bald Is Beautiful~

Bald is Beautiful: A letter for a fabulous girl” is an inspiring and lovely illustrated letter for girls of any age who will go or already are bald. It’s a perfect gift to send love to a powerful girl who needs to be reminded of how beautiful and loved she is. It’s not a book that explains scientific conditions, disease, and treatment. It’s about love, beauty, happiness, and friendship when going through various changes in our lives.

Bald is Beautiful comes like a hug, and it’s the perfect gift for girls aged 4-100 years and up.

~Available on Amazon~

~Bald Is Beautiful~


Chubby’s Tale

The True Story Of A Teddy Bear Who Beat Cancer

~About Chubby’s Tale~

Oh man! Go find someone to help you get better. Christmas is around the corner. You know… nobody buys toys after Christmas!’ said Superhero when Chubby — a teddy bear with a wool pullover and no pants — felt unwell. Chubby embarks on an adventure through a La La Land toy store, discovering cancer, leukemia, chemotherapy and stem cell transplantation. He surprises us with a fun trip in a yellow toy Beetle, with friends, and his own Happy Ending.

~Available On Amazon~
~Chubby’s Tale~


~I Also Recommend Reading…~


~What Happens When A Kid Has Cancer~

Written and Illustrated by Sara Olsher

When a child is diagnosed with cancer, life flips upside-down. Suddenly, our days (and our thoughts) are dominated by doctors, nurses, child life specialists, and a million technical terms that will make anyone’s head spin. Add extreme fear and anxiety to that, and you’ve got a recipe for the most stressful time in a family’s life.

What Happens When a Kid Has Cancer is a book written with purpose of relieving the anxiety and confusion that comes from a child’s cancer diagnosis and treatment.

What Happens When a Kid Has Cancer covers the main points of pediatric cancer — what it is and what the experience of treatment is like — and shows how it can change a kid’s day. The book is great for ages 4 -10.

~Available On Amazon~
~What Happens When A Kid Has Cancer~

What’s All the Commotion?

– by Jessie Glenn

~Illustrated by Kevin King – NetGalley – 07/07/2020~

Star Rating – 5.0/5.0

~Available On Amazon~

~Goodreads – What’s All The Commotion?~



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: